Awards 2018 – Judges

The judges are, from left, Herman Potgieter, Jacques van der Westhuizen, Peter Middleton, Pierre Rootman, Ben Veldsman, Tholwana Mogowane and Namarsha Singh

The judges of this year’s Sassda Columbus Stainless Awards come from all different sectors in the industry, bringing a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the judging process.

Herman Potgieter is the Qualification and Certification Manager at the Southern African Institute of Welding (SAIW) and the CEO of SAIW Certification with regards to International Institute of Welding (IIW). He specialises in training and maintaining quality requirements for  accreditation in the welding industry. Herman brings a wealth of expertise to judging the welding categories.

Jason Naude is the director of Graytex Metals and has over 20 years experience in the steel and stainless steel industry. With a national diploma in aero mechanical engineering and a national diploma in business management, Jason brings a wealth of knowledge to the business development,  architecture and fabrication categories. Jason serves as a main committee member and director at Sassda and is a past chairperson of Sassda’s ABC sector. Jason lectures to various universities and institutes.

Melanie Smit works in the Advanced Materials Division (AMD) at Mintek,coordinating the Metals Technology Centre (MTC) and the Corrosion Science Unit. She is a physical metallurgist by trade and provides materials related consulting to industry on the selection and testing of materials with specific interest in corrosion related projects in the mining industry. Melanie has a keen interest in stainless steel due to the wide range of alloys, and exceptional mechanical and corrosion performance in some of the most extreme environments.

Pierre Rootman is a metallurgical engineer who has worked as a metallurgist in the Columbus laboratory as well as the Technical Services  Department. His areas of focus included the automotive sector, the Manufacturing and Tank container sectors as well as the export market. He currently focusses on the rail and bus industries as well as the automotive trim sector. He is now Columbus’ Commercial Manager for the NAFTA region with a primary focus on maintaining and growing niche product lines into the area.

Mayleen Kyster is the founder of Africa Steel Holdings (ASH). ASH is a boutique investment holding company, focused on being a valueadding
business partner to the steel industry through partnership, board representation and access to markets as well as access to funding. Mayleen sits on the boards of the Steel and Engineering Federation of Southern Africa (SEIFSA) as well as the Northern Cape Metals Industrial Cluster. Mayleen has 15 years steel industry experience and was recruited into the steel industry straight out of university.

Jacques Van der Westhuizen is an artist (sculptor) and businessman. He loves to create exceptional pieces of art, art décor and unique furniture. He uses stainless steel, brass and carbon fibre as his materials of choice. He is a previous recipient of the Sassda Columbus Stainless 2016 Awards, taking first place in the art category. He brings a wealth of knowledge to the art category.

Other judges include Ben Veldsman, the General Manager of Outokumpu Sub-Saharan Africa, Tholwana Mogowane, a director at National Stainless Steel Centre, Peter Middleton, the editor of technical magazines at Crown Publications, and Namarsha Singh, the centre manager at Mpumalanga Stainless Initiative NPC.